Yucca

Yesterday my family attended a wedding and I attended the wedding reception with them. It was definitely a test to see if I could go without stuffing myself to the brim. I think I was successful overall though. I tried one of everything and didn’t finish my dinner plate. One of the things that I have been working on is eating when I am truly hungry and stopping when I am full.  Full does not mean “ughhh, why did I eat so much” but satisfied. When you are satisfied you are neither hungry nor feeling like you are going to puke any second. It has taken quite awhile for me to understand where my body is satisfied and I’m still working on it. This illustrates to me how much distortion there is between food and body. I can remember often times eating just because I was bored. Yes, food can be great entertainment but that great fairytale becomes a nightmare when you step on the scale and realize your up 10+ pounds. Being in tune with my hunger cues will be essential to losing the last 10-15 pounds.

Yesterday’s food:
Breakfast: Bran flakes, cheerios, granola with skim milk

Lunch: Leftover red kidney beans with broccoli, mushrooms, red and green bell peppers, salsa, 1/2 cup brown rice, and a little garlic and herb feta cheese

Snack: Some grapes and a couple of multigrain tostitos with homemade salsa

Dinner: Appies: 1 vegetable, 1 fish, and one paneer pakora. 1 piece of tandoori chicken, 1 spring roll. Entree: A little bit of each: Greek salad, butter chicken, rice, 1 piece of naan, pasta, yogurt. Dessert: A piece of watermelon and cantaloupe. One bite of cake.

After reading about it on many blogs I bought a Yucca Root while at the grocery store a few days ago. I was intrigued by how many bloggers were cooking this vegetable in many different ways. A yucca root  (aka cassava) “is a white, starchy tropical vegetable that widely grown and consumed in Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Caribbean. In many countries, yucca is a dietary staple usually eaten boiled, steamed, and in flour form as thickeners or additional ingredients for noodles, cakes, and pastries. It is a source of Vitamin A, B, and C. The yucca root has many health benefits. The plant contains something called saponins, chemical compounds that are helpful to the human body. A saponin can be used to reduce muscle spasms and is an effective treatment for internal inflammation.”

After reading the benefits of eating yucca, I looked up the various ways of preparing it. I think I will make yucca fries tonight with dinner and see how that goes. I will explain how I prepare it later on. Stay tuned!

Yesterday I completed Level 2 of the shred and will be attempting Level 3 today. I’m very excited for something new and nervous to see what Level 3 is all about!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

